New to the gallery...

Astrofest2017 - the Team at Astrofest 2017

Gallery

Obbo must haves...

Customer testimonials

29 September, 2016 15:38:
Hi Gary, Just a brief note to thank you for arranging the automation upgrade to my 2.2m Pulsar Observatory. The observatory has been quite superb and has made astro-imaging so much easier to enjoy and the new automation system has added further to the ease of use. Perhaps you would be kind enough to pass on my thanks to Dave and Steve for the exemplary work that they performed in carrying out the upgrade – they were quick, tidy and efficient. They gave the system a very thorough test before leaving me to enjoy my new purchase and it has performed flawlessly ever since. I wish you and your team all the best for the future and I would certainly recommend your company to anyone interested in installing either a manual or automated domed observatory. Steve Richards, Nr Wiston


15 May, 2016 08:06:
Hello Gary, Really big smile on my face this evening. The new PULSAR 2.2 fully automated observatory was installed this morning by Dave and Steve, it is always a pleasure to meet people so professional in approach and happy in what they are doing. The build quality and finish of the new observatory looks superb and the new rotation and shutter drive controller a big step up from competing systems. It was worth the wait for this observatory and I am looking forward to making full use of it in the coming years. William Bristow, Dorset


22 April, 2016 08:08:
Dear Gary, Reference – Sharples School’s Singadia Observatory 2016 Our school observatory took years of planning because we wanted to ensure that a fantastic resource for the school and its community would be a lasting legacy. I would like to thank you and your team with the excellent input that you provided us with, from the start of the project to the finish. Your website was very useful during the initial planning phase and it made us aware of all the requirements for our observatory. Your telephone support was really professional and anything you could not supply, you pointed us in the right direction so that we could source the items at a competitive cost. Planning an observatory provides technical challenges and it is always better to do the research and ask the experts for their advice. In this, you gave advice which was not only very useful technically but it also cost effective, which meant we could then spend on upgrading our wish list. It was the right decision to motorise the dome and the shutter, you did a great job travelling all the way from Norfolk to install this during adverse weather conditions. Our students were wowed by these extra automatic features of the dome and telescope. I must also compliment you on your after sales service, brilliant; you continue to provide us with upgrades and invaluable telephone support. At the start of the project, we were considering a number of Observatory suppliers, after some thorough research we selected Pulsar Observatories and I am delighted to say, you did not disappoint us. I would recommend, without any hesitation, Pulsar Observatories for anyone seeking value for money and quality. Yours sincerely, Mukesh Singadia, Deputy Headteacher (Retired)


14 April, 2016 07:03:
Hi Gary, I would like to thank Steve and Dave for the professional way that the install was done and there courtesy in which they conducted themselves. Thank you all and wish the business continues in the manner which I experienced. Take care. Fred, Gloucester


25 February, 2016 11:06:

 Hi Gary

 I just wanted to say I’m delighted with my new dome automation system.  

Steve and Dave did a great job yesterday. I have the older style 2.2m observatory with the metal track,  so they had to remove the dome, modify the walls, fit new wheels and fit a new dome as well as fitting the rotation and shutter equipment. They also did a very neat job of fitting the additional equipment bay I had ordered.

 The whole system, including the new software and the bluetooth link to the shutter mechanism, work flawlessly. The only slight problem I had was down to me – the Ascom chooser didn’t  recognise the Pulsar driver at first, but that was because I hadn’t updated Ascom. As soon as I loaded the latest version (6.2) everything was fine.

 Please pass on my thanks to Dave and Steve for a great job.

 

Derek, Worksop


12 February, 2016 13:11:

  Many thanks for installing the 2.7m Pulsar yesterday. It looks great in the garden and the RAL gel-coat ‘Light Green’ is especially good – exactly as I had envisioned it!

Please pass on my thanks once again to David and Steve who did an excellent job on the assembly and installation. 

Mark Harman, Oxford


15 January, 2016 09:03:

  The Pulsar Team installed my 2.2 observatory last November, and worked so professionally that it was completed in a short space of time. The weather was poor, but that did not deter them, they did not leave until I was happy with the operation of all the domes functions and had the confidence in using it. Pulsar Domes customer care must be one of the best I have ever experienced!    Well done!    (My only problem is that it has not stopped raining since the installation!!!) 

Dave Buchanan, Liverpool


8 December, 2015 18:34:

 Dave,

 
Many thanks for a really great job today.
It was a pleasure meeting you and maybe see you at the next Astrofest!
  
Mark Trapnell, Spain


13 November, 2015 18:41:

 Hi, 

Firstly, many thanks for installing the 2.2 metre dome earlier this year, it is fantastic to be inside; now all I need is time off work and weather to coincide! 

Alan Higgs, North Lincolnshire


12 November, 2015 18:42:

 A Good Day Gary, 
Thank you for doing a great job setting up my new dome!

Wayne Shakell, Wales


13 March, 2015 11:03:

 

Hi Gary. This is just a short note to say how very pleased I am with the observatory dome that your team installed recently. It was also a pleasure to talk to them during the day.

Ted Sadler, Bedfordshire

 


10 February, 2015 14:35:

 

The observatory has now gone through a full cycle of the seasons and I am pleased to report that it has stood up to everything that the harsh Sheffield weather has thrown at it. The last few weeks here have seen several significant snowfalls, along with high winds, but nothing has penetrated the interior and my equipment remains bone dry and ready for action whenever the weather abates.

This has been a great purchase that has transformed my astronomical activities and significantly increased the number of observational opportunities. It has also made life much more comfortable for my aching bones! Well done on a great product!

Bill Leatherbarrow, Sheffield                                                                            

 


9 January, 2015 09:45:

 

Good news, my dome laughs in the face of 113mph winds, thank god. Well done!

All the best Aaron.

Aaron Urquhart, Inverness


6 November, 2014 11:35:

 

Extremely good, well made and well thought out observatory. It has improved my astronomy experience beyond all expectations and made such a difference I upgraded my scope and spend more hours in comfort with the stars rather than dragging equipment in and out of the garden. Great dome and what a difference.
 
Jim Stonton, Bedfordshire

 


6 August, 2014 11:29:

 

Finally using my telescope at last. The observatory is great and I do more astronomy now than I ever did before because everything is setup, ready to use. Brilliant!!

David Mackintosh, Cambridge


30 June, 2014 11:50:

 

 Have to say it ticks all the boxes of what a garden observatory should be, spacious, easy to use and it looks great!!

Jim Messenger, Bucks


27 February, 2014 14:30:

 

Hi Gary, having erected the observatory this weekend, I must congratulate you in producing a top quality, well designed and beautifully manufactured product, and something which is excellent value for money; I would have no hesitation in recommending your observatory to anyone wishing to buy such an item, they will not find a better home for their telescope on the market today.
Well done Gary, and many thanks for your help and advice during the purchase process.
 
Tim Fox, West Yorkshire


9 December, 2013 12:08:

 

Thanks for your installation visit the other week and the efficient, speedy installation. I've now got all the equipment and electrics installed. I have had enough clear skies to align the equipment and am already getting more use out of my equipment. Thanks once again for your attention and service.

Ed Orme, Derbyshire


4 December, 2013 18:14:

 

What a beautiful observatory..... Much more than I expected. Gary, you have a great product with the observatory. I am very pleased I got you to assemble the observatory as the dome rotates with the push of a couple of fingers. It is smooth and quiet. And the motorised dome rotation is so easy to use. The shutter is an easy flip of two latches and pull of a cord to slide open. Now, not only am I out of the weather and dew, but I have room to spare for friends and visitors. Great Job Guys. Keep up the good work. I'm glad I found yours. Thanks to you and your team, I'm a very happy and warm Astronomer...

Steve Cruttenden, Berkshire


30 November, 2013 18:07:

 

Hi Gary,
It has been some time since you delivered my Observatory and all I can say is how wonderful it is to be protected from the elements, assembly was so quick and simple, no issues whatsoever.

Brendan Tynan, Renfrewshire


11 November, 2013 10:42:

 

 This is just a quick email to explain how happy and grateful I am with the installation of my 2.2m dome on 01/11/2013 in Denbighshire.
On the day of the installation the weather was horrible and Gary and his colleague battled through the weather to finish off the installation.
I would like to take a moment and personally thank Gary and his colleague on the excellent work that they did on the day in question.
Many thanks again Pulsar Observatories for making my dream become a reality and the excellent service that I experienced on the day of my dome installation.
I wish Pulsar Observatories all the very best for the future.
 

Christopher Cooper, Wales


17 October, 2013 11:22:

 

Again, thanks to you, Dave and Mike for all your fine work installing it.  I will send some photos when fitted out.


David Powley, Gloucestershire


15 August, 2013 14:39:

 

May I commend you and Dave for the work you did yesterday and I hope you both arrived safely back in Norfolk.

Iain Cartwright, West Kilbride


31 July, 2013 11:22:

 

Many thanks to you and Dave for the great installation job on the dome. Very pleased so far.

Andy Dix, Suffolk


1 June, 2013 11:23:

 

The Obsy is brilliant. It has seen a fair bit of use and was clearly a very sound investment. Many thanks for a brilliant product.

Wayne Byrne, Waterlooville


31 May, 2013 11:26:

 

First of all, I am well pleased with the observatory. Thanks very much for all your help. I am now looking to cover the concrete with your flooring option.

Richard Collett, Hampshire


12 February, 2013 12:40:

 

We installed one of the 2.2 domes in a high school roof top today. The domes are wonderful - easy to install and of great quality. We already built the 2.7 and supporting structure, it's waiting to be finished tomorrow. Thank you for your great service and amazing product.

Ido, Israel


14 September, 2012 12:20:

 

Thank you for a wonderful job done. Very pleased with the quality, best astro investment I ever made!

John Adams, Kent


26 July, 2012 12:17:

 

It seems common for people to moan these days, but I thought I would buck the trend by letting you know how delighted I am with the 2.2m Observatory which was delivered last month! It is now installed and my LX200 saw the stars once again last night for the first time in months from within the observatory. The dome is absolutely excellent, the assembly instructions were great and initial concerns about cost were ungrounded now I can see the quality of construction.

We are blessed with dark skies where I live but even so, the dome really helped to dark adapt and block off stray lighting from surrounding areas. I believe this dome will serve me for many years and I just wanted to say many thanks for supplying a great product.

Adam Rawlinson, Kent


11 June, 2012 12:57:

 

Buying a dome at Pulsar was a very good idea, I'm very pleased with the communication with Gary Walker and the delivery to Belgium. Package arrived in perfect shape and not a single part was missing. Dome was easy to assemble. 

Emmanuel Fabel, Belgium


24 May, 2012 09:40:

 

Thanks so much for the magnificent dome in my garden!  You and Dave certainly made a really good job of putting it all together and I am delighted.                                                                                                                                          

John Stone, Sussex


16 March, 2012 16:19:

 

A great product, neat workmanship, easy to assemble – Thank you!

Kai v. Shchauroth, Germany


18 February, 2012 10:24:

 

Hello Gary, hope you are OK.

I'm still very pleased with the dome which is much admired by visitors (especially astronomers but also non-astronomers),

Steve Hubbard, Norfolk


9 January, 2012 16:46:

 

From the date I first ordered my 2.7m observatory to the time you and Dave called to deliver and assemble the structure, the service provided has been first class.

Having installed my Celestron CGE Pro and other equipment inside, I was delighted to find there is so much space to move around when observing in the darkness.

It really is a beautiful looking structure, with so many features and I would strongly recommend Pulsar Observatories to anyone considering purchasing a secure and permanent 'home' for their valuable telescopic equipment.

Tony Haines, Buckinghamshire


11 September, 2011 13:07:

 

I want to say thank you very much for fast shipping. The quality of the observatory is just fantastic! we love it!

Oliver Forster, Germany


13 July, 2011 14:30:

 

 Thank you for a really great job installing the new observatory - fast and efficient.

Greg Parker, Hampshire


23 May, 2011 09:43:

 

Finally back at home and have had a chance to look at the completed observatory. I am delighted with it; it certainly lives up to your web site and I look forward to many happy nights looking at the stars.

Jonathan Clarke, Surrey


19 May, 2011 19:51:

 

Thanks for coming over and completing the dome works , I am very pleased with the quality and service.

Geoff Hutchinson, Worcester


27 January, 2011 19:34:

 

Dear Gary - many thanks for your excellent help with Dave last Thursday  - the dome is fully functional! - I'll just have to wait for good weather to seal the base against the elements - thanks again to you and Dave - an excellent service - best wishes Tony.

Tony Funnell, Sussex


17 January, 2011 10:44:

 

I have attached a few pictures of the dome you installed in Tondu. It is doing stirling service and has proved completely watertight. Thanks for a fab job.

Dave Jenkins, South Wales


24 November, 2010 12:39:

 

Thank you and Dave very much for installing my observatory. It has really exceeded my expectations. The components are built to a higher standard than I had expected; the green colour is perfect (from a horticultural rather than an astronomical perspective); and you and Dave really know how to put them together well.

Robin Fraser, Surrey


20 September, 2010 15:14:

 

Just to let you know everything is up and running. Many thanks for all your help - much appreciated. I shall certainly recommend your observatories to anyone that asks.

Antony Crouch, Lincolnshire 


21 August, 2010 11:40:

 

Sending you a couple of pictures I took of the Observatory Dome last week. I am over the moon[ figuratively speaking ] with the observatory and I think you will agree it also enhances the architecture of house and garden.

Robert & Mary Buhagiar, Norfolk


8 June, 2010 17:44:

 

Many thanks again for yourself and Dave for the professional installation of the pier and dome. It was particularly reassuring to know the project was developed from observatories that you have built over the years to meet your needs as practical astronomers. I'm sure that having the scope 'always available' will make a great difference to the amount of sky watching that I'll be able to do.

Dave Whillock, Suffolk


30 January, 2010 16:45:

 

We are very happy with the observatory we recently set up in our backyard.
As a little feedback we would like to send you some pictures of the observatory.
The Observatory is located in Toppelsdorf, a small village in Austria, near the border to Slovenia.
Florian Schaumberger, Austria


4 December, 2009 14:37:

 

Used the observatory last night, clear for a change - it was great, nice to be inside looking out, dome and shutter operate just fine and it really cuts out light from those dreadful sodium street lamps.
Len Telford, Dorset


7 August, 2009 14:36:

 

I thought I should give you some feedback about the new dome you sent me.
I have been using it for about two months or maybe a bit more. I am very happy with it.
It is a beautiful dome, quite spacious and very suitable for my current setup in it.
Leonard Mercer, Malta


12 June, 2009 14:35:

 

Just wanted to say how pleased I am with the observatory and pier. Now a few clear nights wouldn't go amiss!!
Steve Aldridge, West Sussex


30 May, 2009 14:34:

 

Thanks for the installation of my dome yesterday - I'm very pleased with the quality etc.  I have attached a photo of the dome and me posing by it.  I will send you a collection of the photos I took in a few days time.
Paul Andrew, Kent


22 February, 2009 14:33:

 

I have now made good use of my new observatory and am delighted with it.
Alex Houston, Oxford